Retention policy

Retention policy

What is retention policy ?

The retention policy defines how long data collected on your platform is stored. It ensures regulatory compliance (GDPR), controls storage, and monitors access to information.

To access the retention policy, you need to follow several steps :
  1. In your administrator area, go to the “Security” menu, then to “Retention Policy.” 



  1. To define a retention policy, you can create one or more rules. To create a rule, click on “Add a rule.”



You will arrive at this interface, where you will need to enter:
  1. Name (in our example, the name is “Rule”)



Identify the data and its retention period by selecting:
  1. Data category (Users or Submissions)



  1. And the shelf life (days/months/years)



  1. Refine the data to which the rule applies using filters, based on the program or status selection (in our example, we will use the filter “Status” is “in progress”).



  1. You can add a new filter by clicking on the “Add a new filter” button.



  1. After naming your rule, identifying the data and its retention period, and refining the data to which the rule applies using filters, you will need to choose the data controller(s) (in our example, we have chosen Julie Lore).



  1. Save the rule by clicking the “Save” button.



Info
Once the rule has been configured and saved on the platform, the system will randomly retrieve the data to which the rule applies.
  1. Your rule will now appear in the “Deletion Rules” tab with the information you have configured.



  1. By clicking on the three dots in the “Action” column, you can edit or delete it.



  1. If you need to make changes, simply click on the “Edit” button, make the changes, and then click on the “Save” button to save.



  1. To delete a rule, simply click on the “Delete” button. You will then see this interface with the message: “You are about to delete a retention rule. Do you want to continue?” Click on “Yes, Delete.”



  1. Once the platform detects data related to the rule you have created, an alert email will be sent to you. Simply click on “View relevant data” to access the interface.



Once redirected to the “Pending Alerts” tab, click on the three dots in the “Action” column to view or delete the alert.
  1. If you want to view the alert details, click on the “View” button.



On the alert details interface, you can :
  1. Ignore the alert by clicking the “Ignore” button.



  1. You will then see this interface with the message: “You are about to ignore this alert.” Click the “Ignore” button to confirm.



  1. You can decide to move the data to the trash by clicking on the “Move data to trash” button.



  1. You will then see this interface with the message: “All data related to this alert will be placed in the trash.” Click on the “Yes, Confirm” button to confirm.



Info
Please refer to this article : The Trash
  1. Once you have processed the alert, either by ignoring it or by placing the data in the trash, the alert will be moved to the “Processed alerts” column with a specific status, depending on the action taken (Place data in trash or Ignore).



  1. If you want to delete the alert (without deleting the data), click the “Delete” button.



  1. You will then see the following message on the interface: “You are about to delete a retention rule. Do you want to continue?” Click “Yes, Delete” to delete the alert.